Resolutions for 2016

In my previous post I had mentioned that I would be posting a separate blog post with my 2016 resolutions. I think a lot of them will be very typical and similar to other people’s resolutions but others may be more tailored specifically to my goals for the next year.Lets’s get the typical resolutions out of the way first.

  1. Lose Weight– I feel as if this may be the number one most made resolution every year besides my number 2 resolution. Two years ago I lost about 20 lbs and quite a bit of body fat. At this point I gained most of the weight back and definitely increase in body fat. This year I want to surpass my previous progress by losing 30 to 40lbs in the next year ,sustaining a healthy body fat percentage, and maintain a healthy lifestyle. I did it before so I know I can do it again.
  2. Save Money– I think this is another very common New Year’s Resolution. This past year I did not save up any money. If anything I spent more money than I should have but made some unforgettable memories which kinda makes it worth it. This year I do want to save up at least $1,000 in savings so I can have it in case of emergencies or for any last minute event or opportunity that may arise.
  3. Read More– I am not a big reader but in the last year I have found great joy in writing. I want to read more to broaden my vocabulary and learn about other types of writing styles. I also believe reading will spark creativity and help me learn more about different topics. The first book I plan on reading is a short book filled with poems and tales written in Spanish. I think reading books in another language will also help reinforce my bilingual abilities.
  4. Learn a New Language– This goes hand in hand with reading. Currently I am slowly learning Korean. I watch a lot of K dramas so why not learn the language. I have picked up some words and phrases here and there by listening to K dramas and K pop but I am also learning to read the language as well. I hope to make some progress in 2016.
  5. Start a Career– Currently, I have been at my job for 3 and a half years. I really want to start a career though in my respective field. I am actively seeking positions in health care related to Exercise Science, Physical Therapy, and Cardiac Rehabilitation. I hope I will be successful in the New Year.
  6. Meet New People – This past year I had made this resolution and I full-filled it successfully. I am making the same resolution this year in hopes that I will have the same amazing experience that I did this past year and meet some incredible new people.
  7. Improve my Writing Skills– So far I think that in creating this blog I have already been improving my writing skills since I am practicing more and able to review my writing style/technique. I hope that in  reading more and continuing my blog I will improve my writing skills this next year.
  8. Not to be Afraid of Excellence– This one may sound a bit strange but I have found that I am afraid to stand out. I subconsciously want to be good at things but not the best. This mindset prevents me from reaching my full potential and excelling beyond my comfort level. This year I want to not be shy and not feel that being good at something is something to be embarrassed about. I will try to be the best I can to bring out my full potential and inspire others, as well as myself.
  9. Take More Pride in my Appearance– This next year I am planning to change a bit in the appearance department. I will try to put more effort in my appearance to others so I can be more confident in myself. I want to start wearing contacts and not always hide behind my glasses. I want to wear make up and feel good about myself. I also want to restart my wardrobe and wear pieces that are classy and flattering. I do not want to settle for being comfortable. I want to show people that I put in effort and care about about myself.
  10. Lastly, I want to show those I care about how much I truly appreciate them. Sometimes I can be in my own world and shut people out. This year I want to make time for those I care about and let them know how much they mean to me. I want to let them know how much I love having them in my life. I also want to create a better bond with family and have unforgettable experiences with friends. To me this means expressing to them more often how much I love and treasure them.
Leave a Reply

