Don’t feel bad/sorry about these 5 things.

Hey now friends. You ever feel like a bad friend when your friends want to have a night out and you just want a night in? Maybe that is the Grandma in me talking but I’ve come to accept that I’m not going to be apologetic or feel bad about 5 certain things. Here is what I’m talking about.

  1. Don’t feel bad when you are tired and just want to sleep. There are so many times when I just want to sleep and my friends give me crap for not staying up. Don’t be sorry that your body demands sleep. If you are tired sleep.
  2. Don’t feel bad when someone deletes you off of Snap chat/Instagram/Facebook, etc.  I typically add anyone from snap chat. The other day I had someone snap chat message me saying that we never talk.That I watch their stories never say hi so they deleted me from snap chat. I calmly said, “Okay, no worries. Thanks for letting me know.” It honestly did not matter to me and I was actually taken back by his courtesy to inform me like that but I didn’t take it personally. If someone doesn’t want you watching their stories respect that. Adding to this don’t feel bad when you delete someone either. You can bet I deleted them as well. I even deleted a coworker off of snap chat today because he was sending me way too many useless snaps. That may be kinda mean of me to say but that is how I feel. Sorry not sorry.
  3. Don’t feel bad eating when hungry. If you are overweight like me you probably have had those moments when you don’t want to eat in front of coworkers or opt for a salad instead of that yummy Chicken Parm at the cafeteria. I’m telling you, don’t feel bad. Everyone eats. Even if they give you that “You’re eating that?” look, eff it. Life is too short not to eat what you want. Now how much you eat of it is a different story.
  4. Don’t feel bad when you are being frugal. There are so many times when sudden plans or unexpected expenses come up and you end up spending all you money. Like when you run up your bar tab when going out with friends. Or when attending a last minute event that you need to get a new outfit, transportation, and a gift for the guest who happens to be the roommate of your best friend’s sister in law’s cousin. It’s happened. I know FOMO may feel like a valid excuse why you suddenly feel you have to shell out your hard earned money but it’s not. It is perfectly okay to decline an invitation because of your budget. Really it is. If you really need to attend try setting a budget for yourself otherwise, don’t be sorry. Have some will power. If your friends give you crap for this one event, remind them how many others will come along.
  5. Don’t feel bad for needing your me time. I need to follow this one myself. I am a culprit of not managing my time properly. I have had many instances  where friends want to make plans and I end up doing house chores and binge watching K-dramas or Netflix. Then you also have those times when your best friend wants to hang but you are spending time with your boyfriend or vice versa. First world problems. On a serious note, don’t feel bad when you just want some time to yourself. I work 7 days a week and still have to juggle time between my boyfriend, my bestie aka my wife, and most importantly myself. I’ve declined invitations to bonfires and such because I needed to work out. I know, my will power is incredible…but not really. Prioritize what is important to you and don’t be sorry about it.

As always thank you so much for reading.

Leave a Reply

